My Zimbabwe

Latest News

facebook Share on Facebook

President Robert Mugabe this afternoon named Emmerson Mnangagwa and Phekezela Mphoko as ceremonial vice presidents following an after-congress reshuffle.

The congress was held from Tuesday last week and ended on Friday, after which Joice Mujuru, Mugabe's former deputy, was dumped together with several cabinet ministers who were linked to her faction in Zanu (Secretary for PF).

Mugabe emphasised that his deputies would have no functions but to take orders from him.

"It should be noted that the deputies will have no functions. They will only receive instructions from me. So, these two and me are the ones that will be known as the presidium," said Mugabe.

He said Mnangagwa and Mphoko will also become the new national deputies and they will be sworn in on Friday.

Mugabe pulled a shocker when he abolished the post of national chair.

The New Zanu PF Politburo members are:

Ignatius Chombo (Secretary for Administration)

Obert Mpofu (Secretary for Finance)

Saviour Kasukuwere (National commissar)

Simbarashe Mumbengegwi (Secretary for External Affairs)

Kembo Mohadi (Secretary for National Security)

Oppah Muchinguri (Secretary for Transport)

SK Moyo (Secretary for Information)

Patrick Chinamasa (Secretary for Legal Affairs)

Mike Bimha (Secretary for Economic Empowerment)

Josiah Hungwe (Secretary for Production and Labour)

T. Chizema (Secretary for Health)

Chris Mushowe (Secretary for Economic Affairs)

Grace Mugabe (Secretary for Women's Affairs)

Pupurai Togarepi (Secretary for Youth Affairs)

Joram Gumbo (Secretary for Education)

Thokozile Mathuthu (Secretary for Gender)

Joshua Malinga (Secretary for Disabled Affairs)

Cain Mathema (Secretary for Land Reform)

Jonathan Moyo (Secretary for Science and Technology)

Sithembiso Nyoni (Secretary for Business Liaison)

Prisca Mupfumira (Secretary for Environment and Tourism)

Sydney Sekeramayi (Secretary for War Vets Affairs)

Sekeramayi will be deputised by Chris Mutsvangwa who will also sit in the politburo.

Mugabe will also name his new cabinet on Friday.

You are here: Home News President Mugabe names new Politburo Members (FULL LIST WITH POSITIONS)