BREAKING: President Mnangagwa reshuffles cabinet: Fires Dokora, demotes 1 minister


Just 48 hours after announcing his first cabinet, as rightly predicted by My Zimbabwe News this morning, President Mugabe has already reshuffled his cabinet.

Mnangagwa violated the constitution when he appointed more than five non-parliamentarians as ministers on Thursday.

In terms of the constitution, ministers and deputy ministers are appointed from senators or members of the national assembly. In addition, up to five ministers, chosen for their professional skills and competence, may be appointed from outside parliament.

However, Mnangagwa appointed eight cabinet ministers who are members of the legislature. Some of the unelected new ministers include Christopher Mutsvangwa, Perrence Shiri, Sibusiso Moyo, Clever Nyathi, Winston Chitando, Victor Matemadanda, and July Moyo.

This morning, Zimbabwe woke up to the news that President Mnangagwa has already reshuffled his cabinet. The exercise saw Minister of Primary and Secondary Education, Dr Lazarus Dokora being fired. He is since been replaced by Professor Paul Mavima who is the Member of Parliament for Gokwe Sengwa Constituency. He holds a PhD in Public Administration and Policy. Ironically, Mavima has already been promoted before his first day at work. Two days ago, he was appointed Deputy Minister of Education, now he has replaced Dokora.

Additionally, Professor Clever Nyathi, who had been appointed Minister of Labour and Social Welfare, has been ‘demoted’. He is now a Special Advisor in the officer of the President on National Peace and Reconciliation. Former President Robert Mugabe’s former Transport and Infrastructural Development Deputy Minister Petronella Kagonye who is also the member of assembly for Goromonzi South, is now the new labour minister.

Below is a Statement Chief Secretary to the President and Cabinet Dr Misheck Sibanda published this morning.


Following an earlier announcement made by the Chief Secretary to the President and Cabinet on appointments to Government, the following adjustments have been made to ensure compliance with the Constitution and considerations of gender, demography and special needs:

Hon. Petronella Kagonye as Minister of Labour and Social Welfare.

Hon. Prof Paul Mavima as Minister of Primary and Secondary Education.

Further, His Excellency the President has appointed the following as Special Advisors to him and his office pending outcomes of the December Congress of the ruling ZANU PF party:

Ambassador Chris Mutsvangwa as Special Advisor to the President.

Professor Clever Nyathi as Special Advisor in the officer of the President on National Peace and Reconciliation, which is expected to be headed by a Vice President to be appointed after Congress.

Cde Joshua Teke Malinga as Special Advisor in the Office of the President on Disability Issues.

Cabined Ministers are invited to State House for the swearing in ceremony scheduled for 0900HRS, Monday 4 December 2017.

Breaking News via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to our website and receive notifications of Breaking News by email.