Zanu PF releases second batch of primary elections results: See ministers who could soon be jobless

Zanu-PF political commissar Cde Mike Bimha

Zanu PF has released the second batch of primary elections results in which the party director for Information and Publicity Cde Tafadzwa Mugwadi emerged victorious in Buhera West, while Mashonaland East Youth chairman Cde Isaac Tasikani sailed through in Mutoko South.

Caps United president Cde Farai Jere will represent the party in Murewa West, while Cde Phillip Guyo won in Buhera North.

The results are, however, still subject to confirmation by the Politburo.

Preliminary results announced by the party’s National Political Commissar Cde Mike Bimha yesterday indicated that some ministers and veteran legislators fell by the wayside as the ruling party entrenches democracy and rejuvenates itself ahead of this year’s national harmonised elections.

Justice Minister Ziyambi Ziyambi suffered defeat, becoming one of the high profile casualties in the just ended ruling party internal polls.

Article continues below these jobs...

A fervent loyalist to President Emmerson Mnangagwa, Ziyambi who is also leader of government business in parliament, lost by just 30 votes to Maruva Mercy Dinha, according to preliminary results from Zvimba West.

Dinha polled 4,104 votes against Ziyambi’s 4,074 while Gifford Gomwe came a distant third with just 619 votes.

The defeat is a bitter blow to Ziyambi, a politician who has been doing all the bidding for Mnangagwa on the state leader’s own battles to keep the lofty job.

Meanwhile, Zanu PF Commissar Bimha confirmed earlier reports that Deputy Information Minister Kindness Paradza had lost his bid to defend his Makonde seat, while in Gwanda South, Abednico Ncube – the current Minister of State for Matabeleland South – lost to former ZBC broadcaster Omphile Marupi.

Ncube polled a mere 602 to Marupi’s 2,654

Home Affairs Deputy Minister Ruth Mavhunga-Maboyi lost to Thusani Ndou in Beitbridge West.

Other ministers who could soon be jobless are Mangaliso Ndlovu (Tourism), Mary Mliswa (Minister of State for Mashonaland West), Nokuthula Matsikenyere (Manicaland Minister of State), Jenfan Muswere (ICT minister), Industry and Commerce Minister Sekai Nzenza and John Mangwiro (Deputy Minister of Health).

Other surprise results saw ex-minister Flora Buka claim the scalp of Justice Mayor Wadyajena for the ticket to represent Zanu PF in Gokwe-Nembudziya.

Buka polled 3,051 votes against Wadyajena’s 2,180.

In Vungu, Midlands, former ZIFA vice president Omega Sibanda lost to Brown Ndlovu.

Other sitting MPs in former Minister of Energy Fortune Chasi, Phillip Chiyangwa, Joseph Chinotimba, Dexter Nduna, Simbaneuta Mudarikwa also lost.

More results are expected today.

— Herald/ZimLive

Breaking News via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to our website and receive notifications of Breaking News by email.