Zanu PF heavyweights and other well known politicians humiliated in 2018 elections (SEE NAMES)


The Parliamentary elections resulted in the defeat of some very well known politicians from both sides of the aisle. Here is a list of some of the high profile casualties.

Terrence Mukupe

The Deputy Minister of Finance and Economic Development Terrence Mukupe was the incumbent legislator for Harare East lost the seat to former Minister of Finance, Tendai Biti. While at the time of publishing, Zec was yet to announce the results, Mukupe had already conceded defeat and passed his congratulations to Biti.

Christopher Mutsvangwa

The special adviser to President Emmerson Mnangagwa Cde Chris Mutsvangwa lost the national assembly seat for Norton to independent legislator Temba Mliswa. Ironically, Mliswa won the seat after winning a by-election following the expulsion of Mutsvangwa from Zanu-PF under the tenure of former president Robert Mugabe. According to Mliswa, Mutsvangwa managed to poll only 4 255 votes to settle for third place, behind Samuel Matemera of MDC Alliance (7850) and a massive 12 000 votes behind Mliswa who polled 16 847.

Article continues below these jobs...

Patrick Chinamasa

Minister of Finance and Economic Development Patrick Chinamasa lost the Makoni Central seat to David Tekeshe of the MDC Alliance. Chinamasa polled 9 256 votes which were not good enough to beat Tekeshe’s 12 531.

Petronella Kagonye

The Minister of Labour and Social Welfare, Petronella Kagonye was defeated in Goromonzi South by Reuben Chikudo of the MDC Alliance. Kagonye’s 18 821 votes were just over 50 percent of the votes won by Chikudo who had 34 243 votes.

Jaison Passade

The incumbent legislator for Mount Pleasant, representing Zanu-PF, lost the seat to MDC Alliance candidate Samuel Banda. Banda also defeated independent aspiring member of parliament Fadzayi Mahere. Passade polled 5 295 votes to lose the seat to Banda who polled 9 357.

Jessie Majome

Former Harare West legislator Jessie Majome lost the Harare West seat to Joanna Mamombe of the MDC Alliance. Majome withdrew from the MDC-T primary elections and stood as an independent after citing irregularities in the MDC-T primary elections.

Tshinga Dube

The former War Veterans minister Col (Rtd) Tshinga Dube also lost the Makokoba parliamentary seat to MDC Alliance candidate James Sithole.

The article will be updated as more details come in.

– Pindula

Breaking News via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to our website and receive notifications of Breaking News by email.