JUST IN: Here are the winners in Nelson Chamisa’s MDC Vice Presidential election


THE loyalty card which Morgen Komichi was riding on could not save him the blows as he suffered defeat in the party’s race for the hotly contested positions of MDC vice president.

The 5th Congress of the MDC has elected Professor Welshman Ncube, former Women’s Assembly boss Lynette Karenyi and former deputy national chairman Tendai Biti as the three vice presidents to Nelson Chamisa.

Chamisa won the presidency unopposed in the nomination stage.

President: Nelson Chamisa Deputies:

Vice Presidents: Welshman Ncube, Tendai Biti, Lynette Kore

Treasurer-General: David Coltart

Chairperson: Thabitha Khumalo

Deputy Chairperson: Job Sikhala

Secretary-General: Charlton Hwende

Sikhala defeated Happymore Chidziva who had led in the race earlier on.

For the Women’s League elections, the party voted Paurina Mpariwa as the chairperson.

She will be deputised by Phyllis Ndlovu.

Daughter of MDC founder Morgan Tsvangirai, Vimbai Tsvangirai-Java, has won the Women’s league Secretary-General’s post from the hospital bed as she was involved in an accident last week.

MDC Women’s Assembly as voted by Gweru congress:

Chair: Paurina Mpariwa

Deputy: Philis Ndhlovu

Secretary-General: Vimbai Tsvangirai

Deputy Secretary-General: Regnat Mangava

Organising Secretary: Base Ngoma

Deputy Organising Secretary: Virginia Mafuta

— ZOOMZimbabwe

Breaking News via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to our website and receive notifications of Breaking News by email.