Komichi blocks Mwonzora from bashing Khupe’s spokesperson Phugeni as chaos erupts at MDC-T meeting


MDC-T chairperson Morgen Komichi said the party will take action against its rogue members who are perpetrating violence and fanning factionalism.

Komichi told the DailyNews on Tuesday that there was gross indiscipline in the party which is threatening its cohesion.

“We will indeed take disciplinary measures against rogue elements in the party because we need order. We are a party that believes in constitutionalism and justice.

“We want to be a team, not a group. So, unity is necessary. We do not want to perpetuate factionalism,” Komichi thundered.

Komichi’s remarks come amid reports that the party’s leader Thokozani Khupe is pushing to have her secretary-general Douglas Mwonzora disciplined for allegedly sponsoring violence and making decisions unilaterally.

This comes after Mwonzora and Khupe’s spokesperson Khalipani Phugeni nearly excanged blows during a National Standing Committee meeting last week.

A national standing committee member who witnessed Mwonzora and Phugeni’s altercation described it as “nasty”.

“Phugeni confronted Mwonzora, accusing him of dictatorial tendencies and equating him to Chamisa, saying he was worse than (the late former president Robert) Mugabe.

“Mwonzora reacted angrily and grabbed Phugeni by the collar, threatening to beat him up before he was restrained by Komichi,” the insider told the Daily News.

Reports suggest that at the centre of Khupe and Mwonzora’s fights was the alleged desire by both to control the recall of MDC Alliance legislators and councillors, including the decision on who would replace such members.

Khupe has since forwarded a list with the names of party members to the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC), with her name on top, to replace the 15 MDC Alliance legislators who were expelled from Parliament for supporting Nelson Chamisa.

Apart from nominating herself, Khupe has also appointed Khaliphani Phugeni, Yvonne Musarurwa, Lindani Moyo, January Sawuke, Memory Munochinzwa, Lwazi Sibanda, Sipho Mokone, Molly Ndlovu, Tamani Moyo, Gertrude Moyo, Piniel Denga, Chief Ndluvu, Nomalanga Khumalo and Teti Chisorochengwe as MPs.

— DailyNews

Breaking News via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to our website and receive notifications of Breaking News by email.