BREAKING NEWS: Shameless Thokozani Khupe who was rejected by Zimbabweans in 2018 sworn in as MP

Thokozani Khupe and President Emmerson Mnangagwa

MDC T acting president Dr Thokozani Khupe and six others from that party were this afternoon sworn in as Members of the National Assembly under the Proportional Representative seat.

The other members who were sworn in are: Memory Munochinzwa, January Sawuke, Lindani Moyo, Sipho Makone, Yvonne Musarurwa and Lwazi Sibanda.

The seven were part of 15 MPs nominated by the MDC T to fill vacancies following the recall of some legislators by Khupe.

The oath was administered by Clerk of Parliament, Mr Kennedy Chokuda in terms of the law.

Speaker of the National Assembly, Advocate Jacob Mudenda said the swearing in of the MPs followed a letter written to him by the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (Zec) notifying him of the persons nominated to fill such vacancies.

Khupe was rejected by Zimbabweans in 2018 elections. She performed dismally in the presidential election in which she polled 45 000 votes only. Her party, MDC-T, failed to win even a single local government seat.

Breaking News via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to our website and receive notifications of Breaking News by email.