Political drama unfolds: High Court deals Nelson Chamisa’s CCC huge blow


ZEC withdraws candidature of recalled CCC legislators for by-elections

The Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) has taken the necessary steps to comply with a High Court order and has withdrawn the candidature of 22 CCC legislators who were recalled in October.

These recalled Members of Parliament (MPs) and Senators were hoping to contest for seats under the party banner in the upcoming by-elections. However, the High Court ruled that since they were expelled from the party, they could not re-contest under the party label.

Out of the 22 recalled legislators, eight were directly elected through the “first past the post system,” while the rest were elected under the proportional representation system for the National Assembly or Senate.

ZEC’s chief elections officer, Mr Utloile Silaigwana, confirmed in a statement that the previously printed and distributed ballot papers have been withdrawn. The commission will now proceed to reprint and redistribute new ballot papers that exclude the barred candidates. It’s important to note that this development will not impact the number of ballots to be printed, as it remains the same as previously notified. The Printing and Minting Company will continue to handle the printing process.

Prominent MPs who won constituency seats in August but are now barred from standing in the by-elections include Prince Dubeko Sibanda (Binga North), Vanya Bright Moyo (Lupane East), Raphael Pashor Sibanda (Cowdray Park), Jane Nocola Watson (Bulawayo South), Ereck Gono (Lobengula Magwegwe), Morgan Ncube (Beitbridge West), Obert Manduna (Nketa), and Desmond Makaza (Mpopoma Mzilikazi).

ZEC’s deputy chairperson, Ambassador Rodney Kiwa, expressed confidence in the preparedness for the upcoming by-elections during an earlier interview. He assured that all necessary resources and election materials have been mobilized, with a particular focus on Bulawayo, where the majority of the voting will take place.

The upcoming by-elections are expected to serve at least 248,347 voters for the National Assembly seats. As a result of Mr Sengezo Tshabangu, the self-imposed CCC interim secretary general, recalling 18 CCC legislators last month, another round of by-elections has been scheduled for February 3 in six National Assembly constituencies.

The Nomination Court is scheduled to convene on December 18 to receive the names of interested candidates for the by-elections. It is highly likely that the court order barring expelled legislators from standing again will still be in effect.

The by-elections, set to take place in Pelandaba, Goromonzi South, Seke, Chegutu West, Zvimba East, and Mkoba North, mark a crucial moment in Zimbabwe’s political landscape. As citizens eagerly await the outcome, the results will shape the future of the country’s governance.

Breaking News via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to our website and receive notifications of Breaking News by email.